Alien Anatomy and Challenge Entry

April 13, 2010

So I am not too happy with the last little while in my art.  I feel I am stagnating, not producing enough, and not studying enough.  I need to change that.

Anyhow, all I have to show are an entry for last week’s Teen Challenge (topic: Heaven) at conceptart.org.  It came second last in the poll, beating only an unfinished piece.  I didn’t really like my piece, but it was still a bit of a slap-in-the-face wakeup that I need to improve (especially on drapery).

Also, I discovered this guy who made up a whole planet’s worth of aliens, and approached it really well.  It is done very scientifically, and thoroughly.  Read the page on their anatomy–it really shows how much he thinks through it and helps understand his designs better.  For instance, they have a hydraulic muscular system that is really interesting.  http://www.nemoramjet.com/sndallclades.html

I was really impressed with his work, and started to think of what would make for an interesting alien starting point.  I came up with the idea of bones that are stiff, but flexible and can be used as springs or to simply temporarily change the shape of the animal if it desires.  I fleshed out a lame skull and leg design using the spring bones.  Not the best use of it, but I think it has potential for some interesting designs, and I need to try out more things in the future.  I can see some interesting hand/claw designs, or shells that absorb impacts or something.

Leave a Reply

