Dragon and Trois Crayons

March 1, 2010

So today I finished up the dragon and tried the trois crayons technique.  I took a watercolor sketchbook and filled a few pages with watered down yellow ochre acrylic paint.  Then I used a combination of red and black pencil crayon and a white chalk pencil (the white pencil crayon did not work very well).  Normally charcoal and sanguine are used, but they smudge a lot, and I didn’t feel like spraying my drawings so I opted out for pencil crayons.  The first is a study after Watteau, the second after Da Vinci.  Neither are very accurate or anatomically correct, but I was just wanted a couple of quick studies to try the technique out.

.

Leave a Reply

